Closing Date: 16 August 2013

Salary: Minimum stipend of R3000.00 p.m. for twelve (12) months ●Centres: Head Office / Provinces
REQUIREMENTS: A post-Matric and Matric (Grade 12) qualification as specified below:

Centres Enrollment of Learnership Programmes
Gauteng Project Management (x2)


♦ Matric ♦ National Diploma: Finance, Information

Management and Knowledge Management

Internal Auditing (x5)


♦B-tech: Internal Auditing

♦ B Com: Internal Auditing

♦National Diploma: Internal Auditing

Public Administration (x5)


♦ Matric

● Mpumalanga ●North West ● Eastern Cape ● Northern Cape ● Western Cape ● Free State ● Limpopo  ● KwaZulu-Natal ● Project Management (x1) Per Province


♦ Matric ♦ National Diploma: Finance, Information Management and Knowledge Management


  • Chemical Engineering (X5) for 2014 academic year
    • Applicants must: be South African citizens, matric student or be studying at an accredited South African Educational
      Institution in the above mentioned field of study, be prepared to enter into an agreement with the Department of Energy and
      should not have any other bursary funding.
  • Applicants must complete DOE bursary application form, attach a motivational letter, comprehensive curriculum vitae,
    certified copies of matric certificate/latest matric results, Identity Document, proof of registration, and recent academic
    records. Application forms are available on or at the reception Department of Energy.
  • No stipend.

Basic requirements: South African, who has completed the National Certificate (Grade 12). Communication: Verbal and written Proficiency in at least two official languages (one must be English). Creativity: Innovative, Articulate, Good listener, Ability to work in a team, Ability to work under pressure, open-minded. Must have the ability to put other people first (Ubuntu), must be professional, honest, ethical, accountable and have a sense of integrity.
The Learnership Programme shall be presented for a period of one year consisting of: Theory: A ± 30% intensive instructional learning theory and workplace training: This is ± 70% workplace learning. During this phase learners shall continue to receive a stipend. The learner shall be regarded as competent after successful completion of Instructional learning phase, the workplace learning phase, the final submission of Portfolio of Evidence (POE) and successful external verification by relevant SETA.

PLEASE NOTE: Applications will only be considered from South African citizens; aged between 18 and 35 years. Candidates who have already participated in a Learnership programme in any Government department will NOT be considered. Applications should be made on form Z83, obtainable from any Public Service department and accompanied by a comprehensive CV and certified copies of Matriculation certificate and identity document. Application forms should be signed and dated. If this is not done, applications will be disqualified. Candidates must indicate their preferred province on the top of Z83 form. Failure to submit the request documents will result in your application not being considered. Applications received after the closing date will not be considered. Should you be in possession of a foreign qualification, it must be accompanied by an evaluation certificate from the South African Qualification Authority (SAQA). Please take note that all qualifications are subject to verification. Successful candidates will be appointed on a Learnership Programme for a period of 12 months. Correspondence will be limited to short-listed candidates only. Should you not be contacted within 3 weeks from the closing date, please consider your application as unsuccessful.

E-mailed, faxed and/or late applications will NOT be considered. Persons with disability are encouraged to apply.

Please forward your application, marked for the attention of Ms L. Modiba / Mr M. Shiluvane for Learnership and Ms E. Masipa / Mr S. Malatji for Bursary by post to: The Director-General Department of Energy, Private Bag X96, Pretoria, 0001 or hand-deliver to: The Department of Energy, 192 Corner Visagie and Paul Kruger Streets, Pretoria. All applications must be sent to the address provided above and not to the specific Region(s).

Please direct all enquiries to:

  • Ms L. Modiba and Mr M. Shiluvane, tel. (012) 406 7607/7801
  • Ms E. Masipa and Mr S. Malatji, tel. (012) 406 7405/7406.