The Northern Cape Department of Health (DoH) has made bursaries available for full-time study in various fields of study relating to science and health.

Bursaries are limited to the following fields of studies:

  1. Bachelors: Pharmacy;
  2. Honours/Masters Clinical Psychology
  3. Bachelors: Optometry
  4. MBChB / Medicine
  5. Bsc: Occupational Therapy
  6. Bsc: Nutrition/Dietetics
  7. Bsc: Physiotherapy
  8. Bsc: Speech & Audio Therapy
  9. 4 year nursing Diploma / Degree in Nursing Science
  10. National Dimploma: Ultra Sound Radiography
  11. National Diploma: Oral Hygiene
  12. BChD / Dentistry
  13. Degree: Clinical Associates
  14. National Diploma: Emergency Medical Care/ Paramedic
  15. National Diploma: Radiography.

What the Bursary covers:

These bursaries are comprehensive and covers the following costs:

  • Registration;
  • Tuition;
  • Residence/Accommodation; and
  • A monthly stipend.


  • South African citizens of Northern Cape origin;
  • The individual must be registered or is eligible for registration at any Institution of Higher Learning for disciplines advertised.
  • (NB!!} Interested persons should individually apply to institutions of higher learning; the Department only takes responsibility of awarding bursaries to qualifying applicants.
  • Proof of income of parents.

Selection Criteria:

  • Only Northern Cape applicants will be considered;
  • Applicants from designated groups will be given preference(race, gender, etc);
  • People with disability are encouraged to apply; and
  • Academically deserving students from poor and rural communities.

How to apply?

Application forms can be obtained from Human Resource Development Unit and should be returned to:

Department of Health:

Attention: Ms NP. Faas
Director: Human Resource Management
James Exum Building
Private Bag x 5049

Hand delivered to:
Attention: Ms. NP. Faas
Director: Human Resource Management
Kimberley Hospital Complex
James Exum Building
Du Toitspan Road

Application forms will also be available at all District Offices throughout the Province.

or further information, please contact the following District Coordinators:

  • Siyanda: Mr W Naidoo @ 054 331 2120
  • Pixley ka Seme: Mr M Manzi @ 053 631 1575
  • Namakwa: Mr P Simboya @ 027 712 1603
  • John Taole: Mr M Molejane @ 053 773 9503
  • Francis Baard: Ms T Mokomela @ 053 831 4695.

Contact the Department of Health provincial office:

Mr. B Dirks / Ms P Thelejane / Mr. O.L Motsomi/ L. Nqumashe @ 053 8300 591/2/3/4

Closing date: 31 November 2012

Closing Date for all other outstanding Documents: 9 January 2013

(E.g. Grade 12 Certificate & Acceptance Letter)

NB: The Department reserves the right to determine the right number of bursary allocations for the academic year based on the availability of the budget.